Writers, Take a Moment

Introduction

When you begin your writing session, do you simply sit down at the computer and write? Do you know exactly what you’re going to say and how to say it? Not everyone can do that and I personally wouldn’t recommend it. Before you begin, take a moment to focus on the task at hand.

Ritz Theater

Going to the Movies

Growing up in a small town in the 70s, there was only one place to go to see movies. That was the Ritz Theater downtown. When my sister and I were old enough we were allowed to be dropped off at the theater, go in and watch the movie, and then be picked up at the end.

Before the main feature they would run a cartoon which I thought was always neat! It was like free entertainment. Of course when my mother was a child, she saw trailers of upcoming movies, serials, shorts, and cartoons.

The point of most of this; especially the cartoon and the trailers, is to allow people to get to their seats and get comfortable before the main attraction. Adjust your body, maneuver drinks, snacks, and children before you got to the main feature you paid for.

Writing should be viewed the same way. Before sitting down to the computer or that blank page, you should take time to get yourself situated. Allow yourself that period of adjustment from the Real World to the Fantasy World of your story. Even if you’re writing non-fiction, it’s still your world in which you are entering.

 

Suggestions for transition

Music_notes

  1. If you listen to music while writing, select a couple of songs to play just prior to writing. It allows you mind to leave one world and enter the next.

 

  1. Use the time to fix yourself a snack. Brew some coffee or tea, gather some cookies or veggies, and find your stash of chocolates.

breakfast-297438_640

  1. Review your notes. Look over your notes from your previous writing session to find out where you left off and prepare your mind for writing. Don’t re-read what you last wrote; at least not much if you do. Too much re-reading will cause you to begin the editing stage.

 

  1. Maybe take a walk around the block, down to the mailbox, or down to the corner convenient store. Although this is suggested for writer’s block, it can also be a good transition period before writing as well.

Cartoon_notice

  1. If you live with people; family or roommates, take the time to announce you are going to write and don’t want to be disturb for the next hour or so. It is always good to allow an hour in case a problem arises that needs your attention.

 

Conclusion

These are just a few ideas that you can utilize to take a moment to prepare yourself for writing. If you have any other suggestions place share them in the comments below. I’m always interested in other ways to pause before I begin a writing session.

And, as always,

Happy Adventuring!

Chris

Icon_Medium

ANNOUNCEMENT:  This Wednesday I’ll be taking part in the release of a new book as part of a blog blitz. I’ve never done one of these before but thought this would be an interesting experience. Come back Wednesday and check it out and then share it with others on various Social Media Outlets.

 

2 responses to “Writers, Take a Moment

  1. Wonderful post! I realized while reading it that I kind of have some things I do before writing as well, but that I never thought about as transitions or preparations. I just did them. Thank you for putting words on what they are, and for adding even more great advice for getting in the right writing mode/mood. 😄

    Also: I was totally living under the delusion that I was already following your blog, and only now realized that I somehow wasn’t. Well, that embarrassing error is seen to now. Well written! 😊

    • Hello Christina and welcome! Thanks very much for your kind words. I agree that there are things that we simply do to prepare ourselves without realizing it. I do the same as well. However, as I stated, if you consciously make the effort to prepare it might improve your writing sessions. My problem is sitting down with the intention of writing and I spend an hour on social media instead. By the time I’m done there, the desire to write is lost. I need better discipline which will most likely be a future article.

      Once again, welcome!
      Chris

Leave a Reply

