The Future is Bleak, but I’m gonna Buy Shades!

Creative Spray

Hello Readers!

Yes, it has been a while since I last posted an article on here and there are many reasons for that. But I wanted to come on here as the New Year stands in the wings waiting to make its entrance. I want to share an overview of 2014 and look towards 2015 in regards to my life and my writing endeavors.

 

The Trilogy is complete!

If you’ve been following this blog for the past year, you’ll know that I have completed my Fantasy trilogy called The Askinar Towers. You can find all three books on Amazon Kindle. Book 1 is also available on Nook and a few other sites. I hope to have the other two books available on those places by February at the latest.

The covers for all three books were done by the amazing Hanna-Riikka Kontinaho and it was a pleasure to work with her during this year to complete the covers and have them done the way I wanted them to look. I am especially proud of the cover for book 3 and I think she really outdid herself for that one. I hope to work with her in the coming year for more of my stories.

Book 3: Always Darkest Before the Dawn.

Book 3: Always Darkest Before the Dawn.

If you’re fellow writer, and in need of a cover artist, I highly recommend Hanna! If she’s not what you’re looking for though, drop me a line as I have other contacts that might be able to help.

 

man-316521_640

Death by Divorce

The major life-changing event, which took place this year, was my separation and divorce by my wife. I was expecting it as we had grown apart as a couple over the past 2 years. That’s all I will say, as I will not stoop to taking cheap shots at my spouse since I am just as guilty in the matter.

I decided to look at it from a positive angle with moving into a 1-bedroom apartment and giving me the opportunity to focus on certain things which I let slide for the benefit of the family. Of course, reality set in as I went from living my life to surviving it.

On October 22, 2014 at about 10: 22am (yes, it’s emblazoned in my memory), I get a text from wife announcing that we were officially divorced. She sent me a copy of the papers which would include the amount of child support I would pay. The news hit me like a ton of bricks. Although, I knew the day was imminent, she had made no mention of when the hearing was to take place.

When I got the text that morning, it felt as if someone had told me that my best friend had died. My wife was my best friend for the majority of our marriage and with the divorce finalized; it felt more like a death than a reason to celebrate.

One of the other things to die along with it was my desire to write Fantasy stories. I always had my children in mind when I wrote these stories, seeing that my main characters for the towers were based on them. But without them as a part of my life, that desire is no longer strong within me.

 

I feel like I'm working for a clown.

I feel like I’m working for a clown.

Do You Want Fries with That?

When the divorce papers arrived, with the amount for child support, I freaked! I thought that there was no way I could survive my life and pay all my bills at the same time. But after a couple days, I sat down and reworked my budget. It turned out that I could afford to pay all of my bills, including the child support, as long as I didn’t buy any groceries.

I knew then that I had to get a part-time job to supplement my income, but wasn’t sure where to start looking. I thought about going to a Temp agency but I didn’t want to go through all the red tape just to have them look for a job, plus there was no guarantee that they would find something right away.

At the Wal-Mart where I work, there’s a McDonald’s inside and they were looking to hire part-time help. Once I sat down with the store’s manager for an interview, he practically handed me the job! Since I worked for Wal-Mart for over 18 years, and they could see my work ethic (since I work up front in the produce department), they knew I would be a hard worker and could be depended on to get the job done. Plus, since I buy food from them on a regular basis, all of the staff already knew me pretty well.

I had previously worked two jobs back in ’92 and it cost me my health after only six months. I ended up in the emergency room one morning from exhaustion. This time, however, I know how serious two jobs take a toll on one’s body, so I’m taking my time off more seriously. With the holidays here, things can get pretty hectic at both jobs.

 

Still Writing

Yes, I am still writing fiction! Although the desire to write Fantasy is dead, it’s not impossible to resuscitate it at a later time. But, for now, I am turning my focus on a different type of writing. What I mean is, targeting my stories more towards young adult and adults. I have a series of short stories that I’ve been meaning to finish and put out as a collection and I hope to do that by summer, 2015.

In addition to them, I have two projects in mind that will most likely become novellas and not just short stories. The first is a story I’m calling Dream Girl and the basic premise is that this guy falls in love with two women; one in real life and one in his dreams. I won’t say anymore which might spoil the story.

The second story will be a vampire story. Yes, it seems like everyone I know has written, or is writing, a vampire story and I completely understand the allure to the character type. As with most things that I write, I try to come up with a different take on the character and story. For this one, I think I’ve really come up with something really special! I’m keeping the title a secret but I can say that it will be more humorous than scary and I hope to complete it in time for Halloween, 2015.

sun-151763_640

Conclusion

Right now, my goal in life is to find a cheaper place to live so that the child support payment is less of a burden. This, I hope will free up my anxiety and allow more creative flow in my mind to keep writing. As the title suggests, my future seems bleak but I plan to change that and make it bright enough to wear shades.

 

Happy Adventuring!

Chris

3 responses to “The Future is Bleak, but I’m gonna Buy Shades!

  1. Thanks for your kind words! It’s been a pleasure to work with you too. 🙂

    All the best for the next year! 🙂

  2. >Writer, Author, Husband, Parent, Retail Lifer. Surviving the desert of Arizona.<

    Maybe it's a good time to take the 'Husband' out of your bio? 🙂

Leave a Reply

