Fictional Elevator

Today’s post is an exercise from a book of Daily Writing Prompts. I posted the picture of the woman you see to a group on Facebook and had them name the woman, describe her occupation, and give a reason as to why she was in an office building. I want to thank everyone who participated! The woman’s information that I selected comes from Caroline Van Hateren. 

Fictional elevator

(May 23rd post idea)

You’re stuck in an elevator with an intriguing stranger. Write this scene.

The Editors, WordPress.com. 365 Days of Writing Prompts

elevator-buttons-248639_640

It was Friday afternoon and I had just finished talking with my attorney. I left his office, located on the 9th floor, and walked to the elevators. Fortunately, most everyone else had already left for the day and so I was able to get a car quickly. The doors opened and no one was aboard. I got on, pressed “First Floor”, and then checked my watch as the doors closed. I had an hour to get home, make dinner, and then head on to the movie theater. Finally, I was going to see Guardians of the Galaxy!

At the 7th floor, the elevator stopped and the doors opened. There stood this most attractive woman! She flashed me a smile as she walked on.

Toni

“What floor?” I asked.

“First Floor,” she replied.

“What a coincidence! That’s where I’m headed.”

“Small world.” She said it with a lack of enthusiasm and I felt like an idiot.

Where else would she be headed? I thought as I looked over at her. The lobby is the only way out of the building.

She looked over and just gave me a half smile, the polite kind as if to say, ‘The pleasantries are over, now leave me alone!’ She was studying a Day planner and pulled out her cell phone.

The elevator car gave a sudden lurch, throwing me off balance and into the side, the woman was thrown towards me. I managed to catch her in my arms to prevent her from falling when we both realized that the elevator had stopped.

“Why aren’t we moving?” she asked, her voice a little fearful.

“I think the car is stuck,” I replied. I was still holding her but she didn’t seem to mind.

“Drat! My cell phone is dead.”

“You can use mine.” I handed it to her as she stood back up, smiled, and made her call. I looked over the elevator panel and found the emergency phone. I managed to get a maintenance man and he said it would be about twenty minutes or so to get it working again.

“Look, I’m sorry that I’m going to be late,” said the woman to the person on the other end. “No, it’s just a little traffic delay…Yes, I took interstate 75…yes, I know it’s rush hour on a Friday…no, I wasn’t thinking, it’s been a long day.”

As she continued her conversation, I assumed she was talking to either a husband or her mother. Though she’s old enough, naturally, to live on her own, perhaps she took her mother in to care for her. I pulled out my iPad and called up one of my books I was reading to pass the time.

“We can still go out, I just can’t cook dinner for us tonight,” she said.

Husband, I concluded.

“I’ll just pick something up on the way home…okay, I love you too…right, goodbye.” She hung up the phone and was about to throw it when she realized it wasn’t hers. “Here’s your phone back, thanks for letting me use it.”

“Sure! I called building maintenance, should be another fifteen minutes or so.”

“That’s a relief, I’d hate to be in here for longer.” She then looked over at me and smiled. “Not that I find the company distasteful, just not keen on being in a stuck elevator.”

“Especially on a Friday afternoon with all of this rush hour traffic.”

She put her hand to her eyes. “Oh, you heard that?”

“I wasn’t trying to eavesdrop, but given that you are only a couple a feet away from me.” I paused, then asked the question. “Husband?”

“What? No! I’m single. That was my sister, we’re roommates. I’ve been taking care of her since our parents died two years ago. She’s been wheelchair bound since the accident in ’08. And I—” She stopped suddenly. “I’m sorry, I don’t mean to bare my soul like that.”

“It’s quite all right,” I said. “I was here to see my attorney as I’m being sued by a woman for harassment on the job. It’ll be the third time this year and by the same woman. Guess that’s what I get for telling her to ‘have a great weekend’.”

“That’s all you said?”

I nodded in response. “She thought I was implying that she had some sexual escapade planned. I’ve move her to different departments but it doesn’t seem to improve the problem. I’m Jeff, by-the-way.”

“Toni Richardson,” she replied. “I run a new charity organization called ‘Miracles on Wheels’. We raise money for the disabled and their families to be able to afford walkers, wheelchairs, and specially designed cars and vans for transportation. I just finished talking to Ralph Kleiner who has generously donated a large sum on money plus is helping set up our first charity ball at the Hilton at the end of the month.”

“That is fascinating,” I said. “Look, I don’t mean to be forward here, but I might be able to help you out. Why don’t we go pick up your sister and I’ll take you both to dinner. We can talk about it some more.”

“I’d like that,” she said with a smile. “I’m sure Connie wouldn’t mind either. Except, we were also going to take in a movie as well.”

“Not a problem. What were you going to see?”

“Guardians of the Galaxy. We’re both fans of Karen Gillan.”

“Perfect! I was going to see that myself. Give me your phone number and we and meet up at a restaurant.”

“I already gave you my number.”

I looked at her dumbfounded a moment when she pointed to my cell phone.

“Of course.”

The elevator car lurched and started up again.

I hope you enjoyed this little scene of mine. Feel free to post comments, questions or suggestions. Thanks to everyone!!

Until next week,

Happy Adventuring!

Chris

One response to “Fictional Elevator

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction–First Impressions | Tales From The Fifth Tower

Leave a Reply

