Fifth Tower Interview–Elyse Salpeter

Fifth Tower logo

Here we are, once again, with another interview from an Indie Author. I managed to catch Elyse Salpeter before she rushed off for a cruise in Alaska. The interview is as follows, please enjoy.

Your current project is “Flying to the Fire” a sequel to “Flying to the Light”. What can you tell us about this book?

Flying_fire

These novels are about a young deaf boy who knows about the afterlife. In Book #1, our main protagonist, six-year old Danny Anderson, finds himself on the run for his life. An evil biophysicist, the FBI and even fellow Americans are all on the hunt for him for his secrets and it’s up to his older brother to keep him safe. In Book #2, I fast forward seven years and Danny is now thirteen years old. I did that because I wanted him to be the driver of the story and the novel continues “the theme” that I began in the first novel of the series.

Flying_light

Your MC in these stories is deaf. Was this a challenge for you to write and did readers have an issue with it?

My biggest concern was to make sure that I was creating a novel that “made sense and was respectful of the Deaf culture.” While I am a bit hard of hearing in my left ear, I can still hear and I live in the hearing world, so this aspect was very important to me. I wanted to have this little boy’s main communication to be sign language and I wanted the entire family to use it fluently to communicate with him.

For Book #2, I visited St. Joseph’s School for the Deaf and Mill Neck Manor School for the Deaf and I was able to speak to the students to make some of my dialogue a lot more relevant.

I’ve noticed that you are working on a third for this series, what can you share about this one? Will this be the last, or are you planning more?

I “think” this will be the last of the trilogy, but you never know! At this time I have a rudimentary knowledge of what is going to happen. You see, I left the end of FLYING TO THE FIRE with a huge cliffhanger that needs to be resolved, so I’m going to have to do that in the next book. The tentative title is called FLYING HOME.

One of the other series you’ve written is The Children of Demilee. There are currently two books available. Do you plan to write more and what can you share about them?

Karov

I love fantasy books and in the Children of Demilee series, THE WORLD OF KAROV and THE RUBY AMULET, I wanted to create a fantasy world that was not all about pink princesses. I wanted a gritty novel where things don’t always end happily. The first book takes us into the lives of dysfunctional twins and into a world where a great evil is spreading through the lands. In THE RUBY AMULET I fast forward nearly four hundred years and bring another set of characters forward to enter this particular universe. I believe this series could have a third book, but I think it would end up being a prequel to them all. What started this evil? Who really are the Children of Demilee? I’ve written two short stories about these characters and these lands, so I know this concept is not far from my mind.

What is considered your ultimate goal as a writer? (for example: NYT Best Sellers list, movie rights, etc.)

I know that the “pat answer” should be that I should feel successful for simply finishing and publishing a book, and now I’ve published five. But that would be short changing you. I would ultimately love to write full time but with the way the industry is going, it’s very hard to do that. My “dream” is to have the novels reach the hands of a producer who would love to put my words to film or television. I think that would be the ultimate goal. Until then, I’m just going to keep writing and meeting people and hope that I build a fan base of people interested in my stories.

If you had the chance to write your next novel with a well-known author, who would it be and what would be the plot of that story?

Well, it’s no secret to anyone that knows me that I am a huge fan of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. They co-author a series of novels with a unique FBI agent. Recently they co-authored a short story with R.L. Stein. I’d love to have one of my characters “enter a story” with this FBI agent. I wrote an adult thriller called THE HUNT FOR XANADU about a girl on a mission to avenge the death of her parents, murdered on their quest to find the mystical land of Xanadu. Her name is Kelsey Porter and I’d love for her to butt heads with Preston & Child’s FBI Agent.

If “Flying to the Light” was to be made into a movie, who would you cast in the lead roles and why?

That’s a good question. Danny is just six, and doesn’t speak yet, so I’d need a young child who is very animated. His older brother, Michael, is seventeen and has to “come of age” and mature quickly in this book. I can picture them in my head, but I don’t have any actors in mind. In some of my novels, I’ll do character sheets and put famous faces to the different leads. In this novel, I just didn’t do that.

When you are not writing, what do you do for fun?

I love cooking and enjoy trying new recipes out on my family. I also love to garden. There’s nothing more rewarding than coming home from work, going into the garden and picking vegetables and herbs that I can use in our dinner that night.

I’ve been playing around with yoga and pilates recently and the occasional jog. But honestly, I have pre-teen twins and when I’m not writing or working at my day job, they keep me pretty busy!

What advice do you give to those who want to become writers?

Just write. Don’t worry about if it’s good, or bad, or what people will think. About six years ago I finally decided to forget how embarrassed and shy I was about showing anyone my work and decided to take the plunge and publish all these novels I had just sitting in my computer. And you know what? I’m glad I did!

I say to writers, make sure though, if you wish to publish, to get your books professionally edited, proofed, and make sure you have a strong cover and that the novels are formatted properly. You want people to respect your work so you need to put as much care into how they look to the public with the same care you took writing them.

What do you see as the future for publishing?

The million dollar question! I wish I knew. I have spent the past year building up my social media stats, hoping that it will help me have a voice within all this publishing noise. The problem is, I don’t know if things like Twitter or Facebook or Google+ really help you sell books.

As for the future, I think soon everyone will have an ereader and hard cover books are going to be hard pressed to find. Just the ease of putting a hundred books on your phone or Ipad is just an amazing thing. My hope is that the next generation is one of readers and that they will value disappearing into a fictional world occasionally.

Thank you for your time!!

You can find me at:

www.facebook.com/elysesalpeterauthor

www.elysesalpeter.com

www.elysesalpeter.wordpress.com

www.twitter.com/elysesalpeter

Elyse_small

Author Bio:

Elyse Salpeter is the author of seven novels and a host of short stories. What she loves doing is mixing “the real with the fantastic” in her books. She loves taking different scenarios and suddenly creating worlds where things just aren’t what they appear to be.

Her New Adult Dark Fantasy Series, THE WORLD OF KAROV and THE RUBY AMULET take us to other realms filled with magic and evil… Her Contemporary Adult thriller, THE HUNT FOR XANADU is about a young girl on a mission to avenge her parents, murdered in their quest to find the mystical land of Xanadu.

Her YA novels, FLYING TO THE LIGHT and FLYING TO THE FIRE are about a young deaf boy who knows what happens to you when you die and now people are after him for the answers. The books are fast paced thrillers that keeps the reader on their toes, never quite knowing who, and who not, to trust.

When she’s not writing, she’s cooking, working out, running after her twins, caring for her crazy ferret, and eating shock food in her Gastronaut Club.

This brings this post to a close. I have one more interview this coming Monday, September 1st, but fear not! I’ll have more interviews to share in the next few months. Until then, Happy Adventuring!

Chris

4 responses to “Fifth Tower Interview–Elyse Salpeter

  1. Thank you for the wonderful write-up Chris! I really appreciate it. 🙂

    • You’re very welcome! I’ve got one more interview to post on Monday, then I’m going to cull all of my interviews together in one post to make it easier to find.

      Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  2. Pingback: New Release for FLYING TO THE FIRE is Today – Book #2 in a YA thriller series! | Elyse Salpeter

  3. Pingback: Fifth Tower Author Interview Archive | Tales From The Fifth Tower

Leave a Reply

