Fifth Tower Interview–Benjamin Wallace

Fifth Tower logo

Greetings from the Fifth Tower! I have five indie authors lined up for you to meet and get to know in an interview. I’ve gotten to know this group of writers over the last several months and have enjoyed reading their works. The first interview today is author Benjamin Wallace, known for his series of books called Dumb White Husbands. He is working on a new project and I caught up to him to discuss that and other things.

DystopiaInc_WarRoom

You recently started a new project called, Dystopia, Inc. What can you tell us about it?

There seems to be a couple of opinions in the country today: One side says that the country should be run more like a corporation. Another says that they already do run the country through lobbyists, super pacs, close friends in the government, etc. I spent 20 years working inside some of the biggest corporations in the world and can say that corporations don’t really run the country because we are not subjected to blue jeans Fridays, “voluntary” fun runs and other unbearable corporate policies.

Dystopia Inc examines what it would be like if corporate policies and procedures were forced on the entire nation. In short the stories will be Dilbert meets 1984.

You’re writing it as a series of short stories and releasing them under individual covers. Why not a collection under one cover?

One of the things I enjoy most about writing short stories is the ability to put them out relatively quick. I can concept, write and release a short story in a matter of days. And this is very satisfying for my ego. But, more importantly, I think people like having shorter works available. Dystopia Inc: The War Room is about 25 pages. Amazon says it will take 45 minutes to read. That’s a lunch break. It’s a couple of times being stuck in line at the grocery store. It’s also not a big commitment to an author someone’s never heard of.

That’s not to say there won’t be a collected edition. The series will jump around to cover different groups and people in the dystopia. The first one focuses on the Department of Marketing but there will be other facets of the society covered. The plan was to release a couple of month (that’s not panning out yet) and, if I had enough at the end of each year, compile an annual report as a print edition.

Do you seen an increase in the Dystopian genre? Why or why not?

The genre will remain popular while the economy is in the toilet and then lose popularity when it recovers. Another dive in the numbers and the genre will surface again. Always has.

You’re well-known for your Dumb White Husband series. For those who haven’t read it yet, what can you tell us about it?

DWH series

I’ve spent a lot of years in advertising and the dumb white husband was the only character corporate lawyers were comfortable making the butt of a joke. We’ve seen it in everything from Married with Children to every TV commercial ever made. I always felt he got a bum rap and wanted to give him a chance to defend himself. The Dumb White Husband stories give us the husband’s perspective on every day events such as going to the grocery store, putting on a successful Halloween, playing the Tooth Fairy. Just everyday stuff dads do. Later on, I put them up against zombies. That was fun.

What made you decide to become a writer?

I always wanted to be a writer. I decided to do it when I realized I could get away with it. It’s funny, all through school you get scolded for being a smart ass. And even in the real world, no one likes a sarcastic prick. But if you put the things no one wants to hear in writing, everyone thinks you’ve got talent. I guess they don’t realize the jokes are still aimed at them.

What genre do you prefer to read?

I’m all over the place genre wise but I always come back to action and adventure. The bigger and more ridiculous the villain’s plan, the better.

If you could have any of your novels become a movie, which one and who would direct?

I haven’t given it much thought really. And I may be weird this way but I don’t even like to “cast” actors as my characters because I’m afraid it will affect the way I write them. So I can’t really name a director but my wife insists that Rob Corddry should play John in Dumb White Husbands vs Zombies and I can’t say I disagree.

If you couldn’t be a writer, what career would you choose and why?

My interests are extremely varied. Maybe too varied. I get bored doing the same thing everyday. If I wasn’t a writer I’d probably start a bunch of failed businesses. But, as long as I’m making things up out of nothing and I don’t have to be at work until 10 I think I’d be happy.

Where do you see the future of books going? Will brick and mortar stores disappear completely?

I hope not. I love bookstores. I find them ridiculously inspiring. Every time I browse the aisles I leave wanting to write a thousand new things. I can’t say that big bookstores will survive, but independent bookstores are doing better than ever and will probably thrive if all the giants go. But, there will always be books because people like stories.

Thank you for your time!

Thank you, Chris.

 

Author Benjamin Wallace

Author Benjamin Wallace

Ben has been subjecting the world to his books for a while now, and there are quite a few available. You can learn more at Benjaminwallacebooks.com. His next release is a short story about pets in the apocalypse. It’s like Homeward Bound meets The Stand and he’ll give it to you for free if you sign up for his newsletter at Benjaminwallacebooks.com

You can also find his books here on his Amazon.com page. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them here.

That wraps up today’s interview and post. The next interview will take place this Thursday. See below for interview schedule.

Happy Adventuring!!

Chris

Interview Schedule

Kim Scott– 8/21

Susan May–8/25

Elyse Salpeter– 8/28

Emily Rose– 9/1

If you are an indie author, have a book coming out soon, and would like to be interviewed, please leave a comment here or DM me your e-mail address on my Twitter account. Please no Erotica or LGBT authors. Romance authors are limited to Fantasy and/or Paranormal.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Fifth Tower Interview–Benjamin Wallace

  1. Pingback: Fifth Tower Interview–Susan May | Tales From The Fifth Tower

  2. Pingback: Fifth Tower Author Interview Archive | Tales From The Fifth Tower

Leave a Reply

