Of Fathers and Future Writers

Sara and Erika in 2006.

Sara and Erika in 2006.

Sixteen years ago I celebrated my first Father’s Day, when my oldest, Sara, was born in May. Two years later it became more special with the birth of my second daughter, Erika. Since then I’ve treasured Father’s Day. Well, to be more accurate, the Monday after, as I had worked on Sundays. Father’s Day was celebrated in my house on Mondays and it was very special for me. Here are a couple of observations I made a few years ago, concerning my children and Father’s Day, on a site called 100 Words:

Father’s Day

Ten years ago I joined a group of men who celebrate this day unlike the rest. Father’s Day became special to me in 1998 when my daughter Sara was born. In 2001, it became more special after Erika was born.
In the long run, they say that anyone can be a ‘Father’ but it takes a lot of work, love, care, and concern to be a ‘Dad.’ I hope that I have achieved the latter.
This year my girls created a song and dance for me about Father’s Day. It was from the heart and I enjoyed it!

 

Belated Breakfast
Since I went to work at six yesterday, Erika got up this morning and made me a Father’s Day breakfast. I helped as well.
The meal consisted of two waffles, a scrambled egg, bacon all in a sandwich. Plus sausage and coffee, of course! The meal was very good primarily because I supervised. No eggshells, no burnt bacon or sausage, and no partly frozen waffles. And, like Father, Erika made herself a similar breakfast.
Hopefully they will take after me in terms of cooking; not to ‘catch a man’ but to survive in this world of fast food.

Me and my daughters at the Grand Canyon, 2007

Me and my daughters at the Grand Canyon, 2007

Future Writers

In November of 2005 was when I started taking my writing seriously and my girls were become of that age when they wanted to do things that Dad likes to do. When they found out I was writing stories, they wanted to do the same thing. Erika was more determine to write than Sara and she would make up stories, plays, and even songs.

In November, 2010 my girls enter the NaNoWriMo competition for the first time. They entered under the Youth Program, which allowed them to choose their own Word Goal. Sara chose 1500 words and Erika, shot for 5000. Both girls did achieve their goals by the end of the 30 days and it made both of them happy. They had fun with the writing and the deadlines, plus they got to meet a few fellow writers online.

I don’t think either of them are currently writing stories. As teenagers, they have other interests in mind and it may be some time before they return to story writing. I only hope that my creativity has rubbed off on them enough to want to return to it in the future.

Me and Sara, 2014

Me and Sara, 2014

Father’s Day 2014

Father’s Day became different this year, something I didn’t expect to happen. I celebrated it alone, more or less. Last month my wife requested a divorce and, since then, I’ve been living in a one bedroom apartment. Before I left the house, I asked my wife if we didn’t get together beforehand, let’s get together on Father’s Day. I think she agreed but I don’t recall for sure. Anyway, this past Friday, Sara came over and spent the weekend with me. It was nice to have her here for that time and we had some laughs and caught up on what happened over the last couple weeks, since the separation.

As Sunday arrived, there was no mention of Father’s Day, not even a card. I didn’t say anything to anyone as I didn’t want to cause trouble. I guess the children felt that since I’m not living them anymore, they are not obligated to get me a card, gift or even wish me a “Happy Father’s Day.” It does hurt, but at least, I’m still on speaking terms with them, so it’s not a total loss. Having Sara here for the weekend was better than any card or gift that they could have gotten me as it shows she likes me enough to want to spend time with me.

Conclusion

Going forward, I plan to continue being a part of my daughters’ lives and I hope that they will want to be a part of mine. The separation will be for the better in the long run, but I pray that they will remember that I am a part of their lives and will keep me in mind in the future.

Happy Adventuring!

Chris

2 responses to “Of Fathers and Future Writers

  1. Chris, I’m sorry to hear about the separation, and I hope you are okay. Please know that not receiving a Father’s Day card does NOT mean your daughters forgot you or don’t love you; it probably means that your wife was the one who bought the cards each year and made sure the girls fawned over you.

    There is NOTHING like the love between a father and his daughters; my two twenty-something daughters absolutely adore their dad, and even though they seldom send him cards, they spend time with him as often as their lives allow. My ex-husband and I have been apart almost ten years, and the separation allowed them to form even stronger relationships than when I was part of the dynamic. Your daughters might struggle with the reality of this new situation, but they won’t abandon you—just be patient as they figure out how to make this work in their busy lives. You’re their DAD, and nobody can take that away. Between the cooking and the writing, it sounds like you are a greater influence than you’re giving yourself credit for!

    I’m willing to bet that if you were a fly on the wall, you’d hear each of them tell their friends, “I have the best dad in the world! I love him so much!” Children just don’t realize how much those words mean to us.

Leave a Reply

