The Soundtrack of Your Book

Music_notes

Have you ever wondered if your book was made into a movie? See it there on the silver screen with all of you friend.  But what would the music sound like that accompanies the film. Have you ever considered a soundtrack for your book?

Writing to Music

When most people are writing, they have the tendency to play music in the background. Whether it’s to accompany their writing or simply to drown out all other noises it becomes a mainstay in the project. I’ve heard people say that they can’t write anything without some music playing. I personally don’t listen to music while writing as it becomes a distraction.

Song Selections

What do you listen to when you write? Is it your favorite band, a collection of your favorite songs? Or do you listen to specific styles of music depending on the type of story you are working on? Movie soundtracks are great since most don’t have lyrics to distract you. I’d recommend Bram Stoker’s Dracula and the Lord of The Rings soundtracks for fans of Horror or Fantasy. Pick the music that would best fit the mood of your scenes. It would be difficult to write a serious wedding scene if “Another One Bites the Dust” by Queen comes on.  Then again…

Music Is Inspiration

As I stated earlier, I don’t usually listen to music while writing. However, I do listen to songs and draw inspiration from them. One of my favorite styles of music is Power Metal. Groups like:  Dio, Blind Guardian, Nightwish, and Epica, just to name a few.

Since discovering YouTube Pandora, and other music venues on the internet I’ve been able to find music to fit the mood I’m looking for when writing stories. Oftentimes I will be listening to music in the car and the lyric of a song will inspire a scene for one of my stories or make a good song for an antagonists entrance into a scene.

My Book’s Soundtrack

Even if my book doesn’t make it to the Silver Screen, I’ve given a lot of thought as to what songs I would choose as a soundtrack for my book. If I could choose any musician to create the soundtrack for a movie based on my trilogy, it would have been Ronnie James Dio. His work on the concept album, Magica, is suberb! But sadly, Ronnie is no longer with us and so my second choice would be Symphony X. Having listened to albums like: The Divine Wings of Tragdey, The Odyssey, and Twilight in Olympus; I know that my books would be well supported with great music.

Now I ask my readers, what is the soundtrack for your novel? Even if it is a work of non-fiction, there is always room for music to accompany your work. Share some of the ideas that you might have for songs in the comment for this post.

As an added bonus, here’s a link to a YouTube playlist of songs that I have chosen for my trilogy, The Askinar Towers. You just might get some inspiration for your own soundtrack!

Happy Adventuring!

Chris.

Additional links and information:

Here’s an interview with me by my publishing company, Tiger Dynasty Publishing.

Check out this article called, How to Turn on Your Muse by Birgitte Rasine.

One response to “The Soundtrack of Your Book

  1. Pingback: Jacquel’s Songs: All Grown Up | The Write Stuff

Leave a Reply

